Harry Potter’s Least Likely Fan

Now to say I’m not a Harry Potter fan would be the understatement of the year; all my life I have despised it, not bearing to be in the same room and avoiding it at all costs. One of the reasons leads back to my early childhood days. Another lies in the fact that I’m just not a Harry Potter kinda girl. The final one tends to the problem that everyone (and I mean everyone) seems to be obsessed with it and I don’t like going with the flow.

I like to stand out and be different.

So, up until now I have never, ever, ever watched a Harry Potter film. Yep.You read that right. I think I might be the only one in the world. Anyway, let’s avoid the topic of how crazy I am and move onto the more interesting one: How I came about watching a FULL Harry Potter movie and how when it finished (much to my disappointment) I wanted to watch the whole lot, a movie marathon.

Well, let’s face it, the TV this year over the Christmas break wasn’t up to scratch. Sure there were the odd dramas (Last Tango in Halifax was a blast but I would have liked more [insert sad face here]) and about two nice films (Frozen is the key to my heart btw)  but there could’ve been a lot more. So it’s really not that surprising that I ended up sitting down after an incredibly tiring day of working, turning the TV on to find absolutely nothing decent on. I suppose if you liked World’s Strongest Man or Truck 101, you’d be in for a hell of a night. But I don’t like World’s Strongest Man or Truck 101 so I was not. After channel searching for a while, the only thing I found was HP.

So it’s really not that surprising that I ended up sitting down after an incredibly tiring day of working, turning the TV on, to find absolutely nothing decent. I suppose if you liked the World’s Strongest Man or Truck 101, you’d be in for a hell of a night. But I don’t like the World’s Strongest Man or Truck 101, so I was not. After channel searching for a while, the only thing I found was HP.

I settled down, remote in hand, ready to change channels within ten minutes. But I didn’t. I watched the WHOLE thing. I don’t know what overcame me. And what’s even weirder, is that when it finished I wanted to watch more.

This revolution is much to my disappointment as I have quite enjoyed being the odd one out and shocking people when I admit that I haven’t ever watched one.

Ah well. It’s 2017. A fresh new start I guess.

Goodbye, old self, who hated Harry Potter. Hello, new self, who loves it.

 

(Happy New Year Everyone!)

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter’s Least Likely Fan

Leave a Reply

